Day 1 – 30 Days to Build A Better Blog

Well I’m playing catch up a little but I’m not going to let that stop me, so here goes!

The challenge for Day 1 of the 31Days to Build a Better Blog challenge is to write my elevator pitch.

A simple and succinct statement capable of conveying the core of what my business is all about, what it does and how it can help you if you’re a prospective client. Not much of a tall order right?

This is something I’ve struggled with on and off with for a while now, but I think I may well have cracked it lately.

My business platform is going to be based on what I’ve found from my research to be one of the biggest problems facing my target market right now – not knowing how to make your mind up, and finding the courage to get moving to doing the things that truly make your heart sing.

So here’s the latest draft I’m working with at the moment. Please feel free to let me know your first thoughts and impressions below. I’d really love to know what you think!!

Tag line:

“How to Make Your Mind Up: Your daily creative dose of decision making mojo”

Pitch:

“Helping passionate creative professional women define their passion, purpose and possibilities in life to be able to make the decisions that really matter, create positive change in the world, and move forward to a more fulfilling future. Using a blend of big business best practice, ‘real’ world common sense, and a mass of creative art, craft and intrepid adventure. Together we can pioneer the lives of our wildest dreams!.”

5 responses to “Day 1 – 30 Days to Build A Better Blog

  1. Zoe, what a great elevator pitch! What I like the most is “creative art, craft and intrepid adventure.” That really draws me in as something different from the norm that would attract women who might be turned off from the normal success model.

    Not knowing how to make my mind up–that’s me! I’m glad to have found your site. 🙂

    • Wow! Thank you Lisa. Its weird because I haven’t really been able to define what my USP is, I can’t believe its been staring me in the face all along! Isn’t that just typical. Thank you soooo much for pointing it out and sharing your thoughts!!
      Me being me though I’ve tweaked it a little again already.

      Possible re-edit:

      “Inspiring and empowering passionate creative professional women to make your mind up, make the decisions that matter and move forward to a more fulfilling future. Using a blend of big business best practice, ‘real’ world common sense, and a mass of creative art, craft and intrepid adventure to help you finally identify your most authentic passions, purpose, and possibilities in life, to know your true values, beliefs and deepest desires, and to find the courage to pioneer the life of your wildest dreams based on those!”

      I’ve also been toying with the idea of pitching myself as ‘The Clarity Queen’ or ‘The Decision Doctor’ but I’m not quite sure if they hit the realms of unique and memorable, or just cheap and cheesy? I’d love to know what you think.
      Zoe x

      • Oh, I LOVE the revision! It cuts much straighter to the heart and has a very strong voice. In terms of having a handle such as Clarity Queen or Decision Doctor, it’s hard to say. Your name is really nice and also memorable, so that may be enough. 🙂 I look forward to following your journey!

  2. Hi Zoe,

    I love “your daily creative dose of decision making mojo” – sounds really fun! I also love the three Ps of Passion Purpose and Possibilities…just don’t stand too near me when I say that!

Leave a Reply

